New volume: Text+Kritik, Digital Literature II (German)

October saw the publication of Text+Kritik's special volume on Digital Literature, edited by Annette Gilbert and myself - the "II" in the title refers to the previous volume from 2001, which, after twenty years, is replaced by this one.

With scholarly contributions by Andreas Bülhoff, Dîlan C. Çakir, Karl Wolfgang Flender, Christiane Frohmann, Annette Gilbert, Berit Glanz, Anna Kinder, Elias Kreuzmair, Jasmin Meerhoff, Kathrin Passig, Nils Penke, Sandra Richter, Thorsten Ries, Alexander Waszynski and myself; with artistic contributions by Sarah Berger, Jasmin Meerhoff, Nick Montfort, Fabian Navarro, Allison Parrish, Kathrin Passig, Jörg Piringer, Selina Seemann, and Gregor Weichbrodt.

 

From the publisher's description: 

Literature is as digital as the society in which it takes place. Today, reception and literary production are largely determined by digital technology.
And yet there are differences in the extent to which literature produced under the conditions of a digitally determined world also reflects this condition. In the contemporary novel, into which the digital enters primarily at the descriptive level, the parameters of classical literary form are rarely touched upon. Experiments on social media go further, and here the tools of the platforms produce new ways of writing. Finally, the tradition that can be called genuinely digital literature – which not only uses digital technology incidentally and instrumentally, but also produces its works essentially through computers, algorithms, or neural networks – has regained importance.
This special volume continues the first survey of digital literature in TEXT+KRITIK from 2001 and highlights the differences and continuities that have emerged in this field since then. As a discussion of the state of the art in both technical and literary terms, it is a snapshot of a literature in transition.

The (German-language) volume can be ordered here.

hinweis

Neuer Band: Text+Kritik, Digitale Literatur II

Im Oktober erschien der von Annette Gilbert und mir herausgegebene Sonderband von Text+Kritik zu Digitaler Literatur – die »II« im Titel bezieht sich auf den Vorgängerband von 2001, den dieser nach zwanzig Jahren ersetzt.

Mit wissenschaftlichen Beiträgen von Andreas Bülhoff, Dîlan C. Çakir, Karl Wolfgang Flender, Christiane Frohmann, Annette Gilbert, Berit Glanz, Anna Kinder, Elias Kreuzmair, Jasmin Meerhoff, Kathrin Passig, Nils Penke, Sandra Richter, Thorsten Ries, Alexander Waszynski und mir sowie künstlerischen Arbeiten von Sarah Berger, Jasmin Meerhoff, Nick Montfort, Fabian Navarro, Allison Parrish, Kathrin Passig, Jörg Piringer, Selina Seemann und Gregor Weichbrodt.

 

Aus dem Klappentext: 

Literatur ist so digital wie die Gesellschaft, in der sie stattfindet. Heute sind Rezeption und Literaturproduktion weitestgehend von digitaler Technik bestimmt.
Und doch lassen sich Unterschiede ausmachen, inwieweit die unter den Bedingungen einer digital bestimmten Lebenswelt produzierte Literatur auch diese Bedingtheit reflektiert. Im Gegenwartsroman, in dem Digitalität vor allem auf Beschreibungsebene Eingang findet, werden die Parameter klassischer literarischer Form selten angetastet. Weiter gehen Experimente in sozialen Medien, in denen die Tools der Plattformen neue Schreibweisen hervorbringen. Und wieder Bedeutung gewonnen hat jene Tradition, die man genuin digitale Literatur nennen kann und die nicht nur nebenbei und instrumentell digitale Technik verwendet, sondern ihre Werke ganz wesentlich durch Computer, Algorithmen oder neuronale Netze produziert.
Der Sonderband schreibt die erste Bestandsaufnahme digitaler Literatur in TEXT+KRITIK aus dem Jahr 2001 fort und hebt die Differenzen und Kontinuitäten hervor, die sich in diesem Feld seitdem ergeben haben. Als Diskussion des State of the Art in technischer wie literarischer Hinsicht ist er eine Momentaufnahme einer im Umbruch befindlichen Literatur.

Bestellen kann man den Band hier.

hinweis